Hailpocalypse 2: Tornado Boogaloo – Final Day

It’s 1974 Redux out there, folks.

In case you happen to live under a rock and are therefore unaware, the storm system that is currently taking aim at the East Coast spawned these monsters yesterday:

If anything exciting/scary happens in my neck of the woods, this post will be updated.

ETA @ 12:30 PM:

Well, it looks like eastern Prince William County was largely spared this morning. I know I should be glad that we didn’t get any damaging winds or tornados (at least, not today), but a part of me is still grumbling, “Stupid Mt. Weather! I wanted to see a funnel cloud to make up for the ones I missed yesterday while I was in my cone of silence at work!” My brother’s a budding meteorologist, so that makes me just a tiny bit insane.

ETA @ 12:40:

Here’s a local news story on the storms that narrowly missed me last night:

UPDATED: Quantico sees tornado, another possible twister hits Bristow

ETA @ 1:10:

Oh, crap. One of my friends lives here:

Fultondale (AL) city center hard hit by storm damage, city officials report

His relatives report that his wife, his daughter, and he are all okay, however, so that’s a relief.

ETA @ 1:40:

Apparently, my friend lost his kitchen and his barn. But at least he’s alive. O_o

One thought on “Hailpocalypse 2: Tornado Boogaloo – Final Day

  1. The guy taking footage in video #1 is a complete moron. No storm chaser would ever allow himself to be ONE PARKING LOT AWAY from the rim of a wedge tornado like that. Please folks…DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!!!!

    Long Isaldn largely missed the fun as well…a couple of bands of thunderstorms passed over, but with the marine layer in place, they were all elevated and none of the severe criteria wind made it to the ground, though we did have two hours of sustained 30 mph winds with gusts to 45 prior to the storms in the intense low level jet.

    For those who might be wondering…Mt. Weather is a large terrain feature (large by VA standards anyway) located near the triple-point border between Prince William, Fauquier and Stafford counties…a region with slightly elevated terrain that has a tendency to deflect storms that may be sensitive to low level wind direction (a lot of the forcing was in the lowest 1 km of the atmosphere with this severe outbreak and cloud bases were around 1000 ft). As a teenaged weather weenie, I constantly groaned watching impressive thunderstorms march toward my home from the SW or WSW only to split with one cell missing just to my NW and another missing to my SE, and I believe that phenomenon is very common because of Mt. Weather. In the entire history of VA weather records, the I-95 corridor between Quantico and Lorton (extreme S Fairfax county) has never been directly hit by a tornado on the ground…in Quantico and Triangle, there've actually been several in the past decade alone…but never further north.

    Like

Leave a Reply

