More Notable Quotables

I have two fun quotes to share today! First:

“I’m not addicted to oil. I’m addicted to being able to drive into town on my own schedule. I’m addicted to being able to haul home a week’s worth of groceries with two little kids in tow without having to wait for the f***ing bus with eighty pounds of filled plastic bags in my hands. (That’s disregarding the fact that I live out in the sticks, and the nearest bus stop is four miles away, which is one hell of a hike with the aforementioned two little kids and week’s worth of groceries.)

I don’t give a s*** what kind of substance I have to put in the tank of the minivan to feed that particular addiction. I don’t care about oil. If my minivan ran on distilled cow piss, I’d fill up with distilled cow piss. If they ever come up with an electric minivan that goes the speed limit on the Interstate, accelerates to highway speeds in less time than a geologic epoch, and doesn’t need to be recharged every fifty miles with electricity that comes from a coal-powered plant anyway, I’ll gladly buy one of those and deep-six the old combustion engine.

Until then, shut the f*** up about my addiction to oil.” – the munchkin wrangler

Exactly. Gasoline-free cars are simply not economically viable right now, so please, please get over yourselves, environmentalists.

*****

Second, here’s a choice bit of commentary from across the pond:

Why is it so bad to draw a line between the deserving and the undeserving poor? I have searched the Sermon on the Mount for the words ‘Blessed are the Spongers’ and I cannot find them – or anything remotely like them.
So why does the Archbishop of Canterbury speak as if it was obvious that we should treat people who can work, but won’t, in the same way as we treat those who are truly in need?

As Dr Williams has decided to take up political commentating, I think I shall do a little bit of Archbishoping. Here beginneth the first lesson: In St Paul’s first epistle to Timothy, Chapter 5, we read: ‘If any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.’

And in his second epistle to the Thessalonians, St Paul rubs it in, in that way he has: ‘This we commanded you, that if any would not work, neither should he eat.’ This seems pretty clear to me, and a dozen generations before my own knew these words by heart and lived according to them. They gave to charity and supported the helpless and needy with all their might.

But they scorned those who sought to live off others when they had no need to.” – Peter Hitchens

For some reason, every conservative Brit I’ve ever read has always had this delightfully tart way of putting things. Of course, Hitchens is absolutely right. We are not morally obligated to hand perfectly able-bodied individuals a check for sitting on their cans watching television. And by the way, as an individual with severe rheumatoid arthritis who is in fact working on a part-time basis, I feel our government’s definition of “able-bodied” should be significantly broadened. If you can sit at a desk for a few hours a day pushing paper or answering phones, then you should be working. That’s all there is to it. We no longer live in a time in which every job involves heavy physical labor.

One thought on “More Notable Quotables

  1. Dear eco-bullies,

    The Chevy Volt sucks my left testicle. Giving government subsidies to the car maker and tax breaks to its' very VERY few purchasers with the hopes that this will grease the wheels toward inventing something similar that does NOT suck my left testicle is stupid. You don't encourage invention and innovation by rewarding bad designs and outdated ideas. The Volt is constructed on the same premise is every other electric vehicle. There's nothing new about it…it just has a bigger set of batteries so instead of lasting 20 minutes, it lasts maybe 40. Unless it's cold. Or hot. Or raining really hard. Or snowing AT ALL. Or unusually windy. Or the roads are remotely hilly. Or there's any stop and go traffic. Or you would like to use air conditioning. Or heat. Or the radio. (I hope I've made my point by now)

    We need a NEW KIND OF ELECTRIC CAR. We need a way to store vastly more power in the space of a car without drastically increasing the car's weight or cost of manufacturing. We need something better than a gigantic paperweight. The Volt isn't an investment in the future…it's an investment in the FAILED PAST. But then…the democrats are good at that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

