Frell It. I’m Voting for Captain America.

Well — not really. But I am frustrated with the current Republican field:

  • I don’t want to vote for Mittens. He ran a great Olympics, but he’s still a New England Republican with a questionable record, especially on the health care issue. I also don’t care for his recent Mediscare tactics, which he ripped right out of the DNC’s play book.
  • I don’t want to vote for Perry either. I stand by the posts I wrote defending Perry in re: evolution; I think I was right to give the guy a chance. Unfortunately, he’s turned out to be a crap-ass extemporaneous speaker (who also steals lines from the Democrats, by the way), and while I hate – with the fire of a thousand suns – what passes for a “political debate” in this day and age, the media environment is what it is. We need a candidate who can competently challenge said media’s unspoken assumptions.
  • And what about Herman Cain, who managed to win the Florida straw poll this week? On the one hand, I find his outsider status very attractive. Career politicians have obviously failed us; perhaps it’s time to try something different. On the other hand, Cain’s incomplete grasp of the world “out there” is very worrying. His instincts may lead him in the right direction, but still — foreign policy is the president’s principal Constitutional responsibility. Cain would need to demonstrate a genuine capacity to learn the ropes before I would be comfortable giving him my vote.

Sigh. At this point, I’m about to break into song:

Don’t get me wrong: I’m not going to wait around for a conservative political “messiah.” I know there’s no such animal. But can’t we do better than this? Seriously.

Leave a Reply

